Board of Trustees

Mike RodelMr Mike Rodel is the current chairman of the trust and joined the Board of Trustees in 2013. He is a civil engineer with years of experience in the property industry in South Africa and India. He has a particular interest in education and skills training through science centres.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Rob Lowe1Mr Rob Lowe is one of the founding trustees of SST. He is a lawyer and an outstanding businessman with a real feel for Africa and its economy. He is a keen conservationist with a love for the sea. He leads SST wisely and pragmatically, and is largely responsible for the growth and success of SST.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Ambassor Ben Ngubane1Ambassador Dr Baldwin Ben Ngubane, became a trustee in 2008 after being a long-standing supporter of the Trust when he was South African Ambassador to Japan. He is full of ideas; is a tower of strength; and is deeply committed to the aspirations of SST. Dr Ngubane was trained as a medical doctor with a great interest in science. He was Minister of Science and Technology under both President Mandela and President Mbeki and prior to that he was Premier of KwaZulu-Natal.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

Tony HeadshotDr Anthony Ribbink, a founding trustee and the current CEO of SST, is a proponent of marine ecology, conservation and education. He led the African Coelacanth Ecosystem Programme from which the Sustainable Seas Trust arose. Read more                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Louis Janse Van Vuren1Mr Louis van Vuren  is one of the founding trustees and was an early architect of SST. Even though Mr Janse van Vuren is a lawyer and a business advisor, he always manages to make time for SST and ensures that he never misses important meetings and functions.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Fred Oosthuizen1Dr Frederick Oosthuizen joined the Board of Trustees in 2013. He is a medical doctor based in Grahamstown and an active surfer with a strong interest in the ocean. He combined his interests in surfing and medicine by researching the sports physiology of active surfers.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

Richard Laing Headshot

Mr Richard Laing joined the Board of Trustees in 2013 and is a keen environmentalist.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

A Nedgroup Trust representative - currently Morag Naylor - also sits on the Board of Trustees and serves as the Administrative trustee.

  • East London Aquarium
  • Offshore Logo
  • Adventure Mania
  • Nvt
  • Samsa Logo
  • Saiab
  • Saeon Logo
  • Hhct
  • Plastics Sa
  • Canon Logo Small
  • Dpi Plastics
  • Algoa Fm
  • Amsol Logo Cmyk High Res
  • My Waste
  • Petco Logo Large For Print
  • Mission Blue Dot Rgb150
  • Outdoor Focus Logo
  • Raid Logo
  • I Am Water Blue
  • Raggy Charters
  • Yacht Porty
  • Nmbt Logo
  • 0518 Dow Logo
  • Dea
  • North Ltd Ployco  Colour 03