Algoa Bay Hope Spot committee member & one of the authors of the South African Coasts coffee table book , Dr Lorien Pichegru, was awarded the emerging scientist of the year award at the 15th Southern African Marine Science Symposium (SAMSS) recently. Penny Haworth, Manager: Communications & Governance at South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity and Algoa Bay Hope Spot committee member was awarded one of the Marine and Coastal Communicator Awards at SAMMS while the other Marine and Coastal Communicator Award went to Dr Eleanor Yeld Hutchings - a judge in the 2013 SST Photo Competition and as such advisor on the book as most of the pictures in the book were submitted by the public (youth, hobbyists and professional photographers) via the competition.



Pod Type


Portfolio Entry


  • East London Aquarium
  • Offshore Logo
  • Adventure Mania
  • Nvt
  • Samsa Logo
  • Saiab
  • Saeon Logo
  • Hhct
  • Plastics Sa
  • Canon Logo Small
  • Dpi Plastics
  • Algoa Fm
  • Amsol Logo Cmyk High Res
  • My Waste
  • Petco Logo Large For Print
  • Mission Blue Dot Rgb150
  • Outdoor Focus Logo
  • Raid Logo
  • I Am Water Blue
  • Raggy Charters
  • Yacht Porty
  • Nmbt Logo
  • 0518 Dow Logo
  • Dea
  • North Ltd Ployco  Colour 03